Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How close can you go? Shooting Ha with bright moon nearby....

geoflewis

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to shooting Ha and have read varying reports on its tolerance to moonlight, so what do you NB experts say please? I have a forecast clear night tomorrow and was thinking to go after the Rosette Nebula (NGC2244), hoping to add RGB next month, but a 90% Moon will be within 10-15 degrees, so would this be possible, or a crazy idea...?

TIA, Geof

1 minute ago, DaveS said:

I'm in the same situation, and even with 3nm Astrodons I wouldn't try it. Maybe at 60 deg or only 50% moon at 30 deg.

But I also have LP to fight.

Thanks Dave, well mine is a 6nm Astronomik, so I'll take that as a no and look for a different target. Cheers, Geof

19 minutes ago, geoflewis said:

Thanks Dave, well mine is a 6nm Astronomik, so I'll take that as a no and look for a different target. Cheers, Geof

Try taking a single sub of it in Ha, and doing another target like you say, then compare with another single Ha shot during moonless night. You'll have actual reference on how much the moon will effect your image :)

3 minutes ago, pipnina said:

Try taking a single sub of it in Ha, and doing another target like you say, then compare with another single Ha shot during moonless night. You'll have actual reference on how much the moon will effect your image :)

Thanks pipnina, thats an excellent idea :thumbsup:.

I did some work on the moon's effects, specifically with the luminance filter. I was surprised to see that if you mix moon affected and non moon affected data (I did it at a 50/50 split) there was no significant damage done to the end stack when compared directly with an equal amount of moon free data.

If you are using Ha then that will change the overall effects...... theoretically in your favour. I was surprised as I thought that luminance under moon light would be a big no-no..... so Ha in my opinion is definitely worth exploring ??