Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Basic Photoshop tutorials for NB imaging

Lee_P

Can anyone recommend some simple Photoshop tutorials to help me with processing NB images? Importing the different images; layering them; colourising, etc. Step-by-step would be great, I'm very new to the wonderful world of narrowband...

Thanks!

21 minutes ago, Lee_P said:

Thanks, I'm favouriting that one for sure. Only catch is that it stops short of explaining how to layer and combine different images.

What I do is stack my images in DSS using the same reference frame for all 3 bands, just leave the reference frame un-checked in the other 2 bands. That way all 3 bands will already be pretty much aligned.

I open Photoshop then open all 3 images (HA, O111 and S11). I then record an action that crops the edges ever so slightly so all 3 images will receive the same crop. I copy 1 of my images (ctrl A then ctrl C) then click file then open. Change it from grey scale to rgb colour then paste each image into the corresponding channel then process this image as normal. 

For colouring I use these 2 tutorials depending if I'm doing a bi-colour or full hubble pallette. 

http://www.starrywonders.com/bicolortechniquenew.html this one for bi-colour. 

http://bf-astro.com/hubblep.htm this one for hubble pallette 

I hope this helps.

Please note that if I'm doing bi-colour I won't combine and process, I'll process each channel separately but this is just how I do it. Others will differ. You just have to find what works for you.

• 1 month later...
On 9/3/2017 at 23:04, geordie85 said:

What I do is stack my images in DSS using the same reference frame for all 3 bands, just leave the reference frame un-checked in the other 2 bands. That way all 3 bands will already be pretty much aligned.