SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help! 

With the eclipse approaching,  I am trying to get a full sun disk with my Celestron NexImage Solar System Imager through my Celestron NexStar 5se telescope.  I am a teacher and can't take off what will be the first day of school.  However, I can live stream the eclipse for the school. The problem is, my camera only gives me a view of (roughly) 25-ish % of the sun. 

I have a focal reducer (.5), though it is a cheap one. I tried using it with the camera, but I couldn't tell a difference. Do I need an eyepiece extension? Whatever I do, I need to do as cheap as possible--makes for a happier marriage.  Incidentally, I am very much considering upgrading to the Meade Instruments 07545 LX f/6.3 Focal Reducer and Field Flattener, but I'm not sure if it will help if I'm not using it correctly (I'm not even sure a focal reducer will help at all to make the sun smaller).

Technical stuff you might need to know:
Camera: 1280x720 resolution, 3.0 micron square pixel size, sensor size is 3.86mm x 2.18 mm

Telescope: Schmidt-Cassegrain, 125 mm aperture, apparent field of view 1 inch, focal length is 1250 mm

I appreciate any help you can offer! I'm fairly tech savy, but pretty much every place I've visited speaks in a technical vernacular that's above my experience. 

Sun is half a degree, so with 1250mm focal length that is D = Tan(0.5) * 1250 = 11mm image of the Sun = bit too big for the sensor size of 3.86mm x 2.18 mm.

With a 0.5 reducer that simply means 625mm focal length so = 5.5mm diameter image, again too big for the sensor.

You need a bigger sensor or smaller focal length scope. All values are a bit approxomate, just easier then try to talk down to 4dp. Which is pointless.

For 2.18mm the focal length needs to be less then about 250mm, actually 250mm focal length gives a sun diameter = 2.18mm so need lesser still.

Focal length like this are rare/difficult so really a bigger sensor.