Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first attempt!

Shera

I am a complete newbie to Astrophotography and telescopes and yesterday some of you were kind enough to help me with my .mov file issues. I have installed PIPP and today I was messing about with Registax and had a few learning experiences! The first was that Registax struggles with my shaky hand holding my new webcam so those videos were a no go but I tried using a video of Jupiter I filmed with my phone and got the attached image after playing with Registax. It's much better than the original but you can't see the bands I could see through the telescope; is this because my lens isn't good enough? Or is it the phone? I filmed it through a Super 25 Wide Angle Long Eye Relief lense on a x2 Barlow. Both came with my Skywatcher telescope. I have no idea if this is the right combination! What are people's thoughts on the brightness of it? Is it too bright or is this as good as it gets with the equipment I used?

Jupiter lets try again.jpg

Thanks! Is there any exposure control on webcams as I'd rather use that than my phone. I'm just trying to modify the webcam so it can sit against the lense properly. If anyone knows of exposure control on a phone please let me know as I'm happy to use whatever works best!

Your best option would be to try and get hold of a Philips SPC900 webcam, these are the best for planetary imaging, I use one now myself, they come up on eBay or Astro Buy and sell sites quite regular....would be much better than a phone, as it replaces both the phone and the eyepiece.... :)

Hello Shera