Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help choosing camera please

Hi everyone, I'm very new to stargazing and my hubby bought me my 1st telescope for my birthday. I'm just getting to grips with it, celestron and have quickly realised I want to capture pictures of what I'm seeing up there. Was very excited to see Jupiter and it's 4 moons last night albeit very small and far away. The thing is I want a camera I'm off to America at the weekend and want a one I can use to take photos at Disney and then back home of the sky lol. Will one camera do both or do I need 2 different types. I have no clue ? advice appreciated. Oh I wanted to spend around £200.

Hi

£200 will get a used Canon dslr such as a 1100d or even better a 600d nice articulated screen on that one or a 550d which spefically has a video mode good for the Jupiter. There are sellers for used cameras like camera jungle and mbp though I've used neither.

But the Moon and Jupiter would be best with a webcam you might have knocking around already. 

Point and shoot bridge cameras will limit any burgeoning night sky imaging interest I think. Bridge cameras are limiting as you can't remove the lens.

If your mount does not track there will be limited to what you can do but this won't stop you having a go on the Moon or Jupiter as generally video is used for them. Also depending on which telescope you have not all will reach focus with a dslr. 

For getting images of what you see, depending on what it is you see, then you need a DSLR type of camera. For imaging you take the lens off and attach the DSLR direct to the scope.

So if you are going to get one for both aspects then a DSLR type is the requirement, basically a removable lens.