NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Weird shaped stars.

Hi guys. I seem to have a problem with the shape of the stars. 

After building my light box I decided to have a go at the horsehead nebula to see if I can get rid of the dust doughnuts.

First of all excuse my interpretation and my editing skills as I'm only a newbie but any coments on that would be appreciated too.

Seems that my light box works but now I don't know why my stars are not centered to that circle shaped aura around them.

I collimated my scope with a hutech laser but I'm thinking that when I slide the camera inside the focuser the compression ring from the adapter is pushing it to one side instead of keeping it center? 

I'm using a Baader mpcc with a 9mm OAG for eos. Just to point out another thing, the bayonet adapter from the OAG doesn't fix very tight on the eos so I get a bit of flexure on that too.

15x300sec at 400 ISO and 10x300sec at 800 ISO with 50 flats and 50 bias all stacked and preprocessed a bit in dss.

My equipment is in my signature.

Fotor_148501825360795.jpg

Thanks. Emil

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There's a few things that spring to my mind about the star shapes.  Here's what I'm wondering about.

1. is there coma in the image?

2. is the camera sensor flat to the focal plane?

3. is the collimation when the camera is in the focusser?

The reasons why these are crossing my mind...

coma, looking at the brighters stars, the halos are offset.  top of the image, they're are raised up, on the top right, it's pushed to the right.  This could be an indication of coma or something similar.

Camera tilt can happen when you attach a camera with a thumbscrew.  Personally, I've been attaching my camera with a threaded connection - dead easy with a DSLR, for my Starlight express, I'm using a C-Thread to T-Thread adapter.  This gives a more secure connection too.