SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Skywatcher 60 what can I expect to see?

Hi All

Complete noob here :D

I recently bought a Skywatcher mercury 60 and after some (a lot) of fumbling about, I finally saw something. I think it must have been Capella, and I managed to zoom? in fairly close but how do I tell if it was just a major blur or actually a good picture? It looked fairly sharp in the edges but how much should I be able to see with these specs? I was using the 20 mm ocular. 

Skywatcher Mercury 60 

Objective lens 60mm

Telescope Focal Length 700  f/11.66

Ocular 1.25"20mm - 10mm

Magnifications 35x, 70x, 140x

5x24 finderscope - 1.5x erecting eyepiece, 2x Barlow lens

Welcome to the SGL.

With Stars, you wont actually see any detail,  their just points of light, though you may see colour changes between different Stars, so if Capella looked good, then expect no more.

I would suggest looking at the Moon or finding a Planet, then decide if your images are in focus.

There is a good freeware program that is available, to help and guide you,  as to what you can find and hopefully see in the skies above you, check out Stellarium. its a software planetarium, and when you have explored its avenues and set up according to your location, like becomes easier in tracking down some targets, or if the weather is bad, then your only hope of seeing whats up there ( virtually of course, but its very accurate )

Where are you located, or where are you observing from? It can (and often will) make a huge difference on whether or not you can see something, or how good the image would be.

Ty :)

It's all the fault of the ISS space station :D NASA posted a link where I could see when and where it would be passing over my location, and when I saw it, I was smitten. I have a feeling this might become a rather time and money consuming hobby :D