Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Is this Coma?

Still taking baby steps when it comes to DSO's, and the camera I'm using isn't best suited to it. I've noticed rather dramitic star shapes in my images:

I'm using an EQ5 with a Skywatcher 130p (130mm F5), with a Altair GPCAM. I'm using a reducer and the reduction is about 0.33. They are unguided but the exposure length is only 10 seconds.

Is it coma thats causing the star shapes? The stars also appear quite bloated even though I'm using an IR filter, is this a result of too much gain?

M27 3.png

The FoV in that image is quite small, did you crop it? 

Im no expert but I haven't heard of a focal reducer being used with a fast Newtonian reflector. Maybe the reflector already has a flat field and the reducer is causing some over correction. 

It doesn't look like coma to me, coma tends to orientate out towards the edges of the image. 

Dan :happy7:

It looks like coma to me, particularly with the brighter stars, even if everything is slightly ot of focus. Was the nebula centered on the field or is this a crop of a larger image? Coma is symetric with respect to the axis so, if collimation was good you might be more certain about it. I would also suggest you use a Bahtinov mask for focusing.

Yeah, the distortion seems to be rotational - meaning its probably a result of the reducer being used (ie: not optically matched to your telescope). The only reducing corrector that is suitable I can think of is the SW coma corrector (0.9x) - but that requires a 2" focuser.

6 minutes ago, spaceman_spiff said:

The FoV in that image is quite small, did you crop it? 

Im no expert but I haven't heard of a focal reducer being used with a fast Newtonian reflector. Maybe the reflector already has a flat field and the reducer is causing some over correction. 

It doesn't look like coma to me, coma tends to orientate out towards the edges of the image. 

Dan :happy7: