Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

hello everyone,

I currently have a friend's skywatcher 130mm reflector. It's been great, but it's time to get my own.

I'm new to all this, but have always been interested in astronomy. The clincher was seeing Saturn for the first time

(purely by accident!) and getting a very annoyed wife out of bed to look at it!

I'm looking at 2 at the moment..a helios sky scan 2001 150mm reflector and a celestron 127slt goto. 

I want a bigger mirror, but I like the idea of the goto, especially as it comes with an image capture and seems better quality.

Any advice would be brill. Thanks. Btw pics attached (i think) of the 2 scopes.

Roger

1.JPG

2.JPG

Hi Roger and welcome to SGL you will get loads of great advice here as I have. For me the celestron wins hand's down out of the two. 20mm will barely be noticeable in light gathering power visually but I'm a goto fan boy all the way lol. The slt will not be as good for wide field deep sky objects but planetary /star splitting and moon viewing will be awesome. However if you wanna go down the photography route then the EQ on the Helios will enable long exposures where as the goto will only allow super short ones or preferably video imagining of the brightest objects. You gotta decide what you are most interested in long term i guess :) Clear skies pal.

Lee.

Hi there, those two scopes are very different beasts, and will both actually be very good starter scopes, especially if you have already used something before and you know the basics.

Dont assume they're differing quality though, they're both made by the same manufacturer (Synta). This Chinese optics giant makes a hell of a lot of the telescopes on the market today.