NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Failed Moon Mosaic! Looking for tips

Xiga

Evening all

I had a 1st attempt at doing a moon mosaic recently using my C8 and Canon 60D. Things didn't go too well, firstly i waited too long to get started, meaning i lost the moon to my neighbour's house before i could finish, plus i'd say at least the last quarter of my captures were tainted due to the view being partially obscured by the neighbour's satellite dish and then gutter before it disappeared alltogether. I could tell simply based on how dim and murky the liveview was getting over time. 

Anyhoo, i thought i'd give it a go at processing anyways, just for some practice as i've never done a mosaic before. I had 44 captures to play with, each one about 45 secs long at 60 fps and using the movie crop mode of the 60D. I converted them to avi files using PIPP, then stacked the best 10% for each in AS! (so about 2,700 frames in each). I also outputted the autostakkert _conv sharpened files as well, even though i know they are over-sharpened.

I then di my own sharpening in Registax 6 for each one. I didn't spend long on each one admittedly, mostly just cranking up Level 1 fairly high, with a little of either Level 2 or 6. The effect was definitely more subtle but far superior to the AS! sharpend ones. 

I then used Microsoft ICE to stitch them together. However, it would only work with the AS! _conv sharpened files, it simply would not work with my own sharpened images. Does anyone have any idea why this might be? Id' be gutted if i had another go and was forced to use the over-sharpened files.