Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Unlikely luck and Messier 5

DHEB

We had a moonless, clear night here in Sweden on 2016-05-04. Unlikely as it is, the sky was also very transparent and with unusually good seeing, and with temperatures above zero! I promptly forgot how tired I was after work and set out to observe and image. Started with M5, lying low. Nikon D40X, DSLR with Baader MKIII comma corrector, at the primary focus of a 200 mm f/5 Skywatcher 200 PDS newtonian, mounted on a EQ5 dual axis mount. Light pollution won't allow me to take long exposures that low in the sky (images taken at higher altitude on the same night came out much better), so for starters I shot just 10 scenes at ISO800, 6 seconds long each. Pre-processed in UFRaw, GIMP, stacked in Registax, and final touches in GIMP. Here it is, I am still learning, so no jaw-dropping pictures yet!

Cheers!

Hernán (Cinco Sauces)

(This story is also posted in my astroblog: https://epistulaeastronomicae.wordpress.com/)

M005_20160504_20160505_rp2.png

Thanks for your comment and the welcome, Tim. I have been in astronomy for a long while, but less than a year as an astrophotographer, so I am just beginning with this! We indeed have less and less darkness each day here. From 14 May we will not have nautical darkness anymore at home (59.35 N). This picture, and others that will come, were taken during a very lucky night, when I thought the scope was already packed for the summer. Next imaging session will be in August, but I do not rule out a visual one when clouds allow, even if not perfectly dark.

Cheers!

Bra bild, trots sommarljuset.

And welcome to the forum.

My scope is parked for the summer, I'm not even attempting anymore until earliest mid August.