Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron Advanced VX Mount woes

migeek

I’m somewhat new to things but have been somewhat successful with my current setup

• Explore Scientific 80mm ED APO 
  • Celestron Advanced VX Mount

• Canon 450D DSLR (modified) w/Astronomik UV/IR clip-in filter

I’ve read the manual for my mount at least a half million times, read forums and have had some text based assistance from a couple of friends. (They live elsewhere) and I feel bad constantly pestering them.

I’m looking for some help on understanding my mount a little more. I set it up in the same spot every night I’m out, point the weight pole North (toward Polaris), turn it on, I originally entered my longitude and latitude coordinates (using the Compass App on my iPhone), time, date, time zone, etc.

The next time I set up, same spot point the weight pole North toward Polaris, just enter the updated date and time and do a two star alignment.

After doing this it seems that my go to be only accurate for certain objects in the sky and a certain percentage of the time. I can go to Orion’s Nebula, Sirius, Horsehead and Flame, Moon… all centered… Try to go to Bode’s Galaxy, Andromeda Galaxy or Globular Cluster, etc and it’s not even close to the object.

It seems that maybe it’s only accurate in the Southwest sky?

Am I missing something? Should I be doing more star alignment? Let me know if anyone has any help or ideas, any and all help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Hey knobby,

Thanks for the reply, I balanced it to the best of my ability, the single 11lb weight is maybe just a couple inches from the base of the mount. I have my ES 80mm ED APO, Canon 450d, Orion 50mm guide scope and my Orion SSAG as well. It feels pretty evenly distributed, any suggestions for testing proper balance?