Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Nexstar 6SE Setup help request

Hi Everyone,

Firstly  I must admit that I am new at this. I have just assembled Nexstar 6se.  This is my first scope.

I could not see anything from 25mm eyepiece so I went back to instructions manual and quick start manual and followed their instructions to align  star pointer and align the  main scope.

I was using a telephone pole as a marker to align. However as per the instructions I have to centre the object in eyepiece in the main scope and then align pointer.  But again I cannot see anything from the eyepiece.  I am not sure if I am reading it right. I watched  youtube videos and though the exact process is not demonstrated they talk about aligning star pointer even before they install the star diagonal and the eyepiece. 

Can someone please clarify and step by step describe the procedure for star pointer alignment.

I am new to this and your help will be appreciated.

Thanks

Do you mean aligning the finder? The small "scope" that you're supposed to look through to find objects with before looking at them through the main instrument? If so, this is best done in daytime using an object a mile or more distant. Get this object (church-steeple, tall building, etc.) centered in your highest-power eyepiece. Then zero-in on it in the star-pointer - or whatever they are calling it. The closer you get the two to agree, the better for using it in the dark.

Are you able to get a good image through your main telescope in daytime? Learning to adjust your focus in daytime is also preferable than trying to learn to focus in the dark. Also make sure you're not leaving a dust-cap on your scope. You'd be impressed how often even us "old hands" manage to pull this trick on ourselves! :eek:  :icon_mrgreen: