Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Agonising over LP filters - help appreciated

rubecula

I'm confused about which light polution filter to buy.  I'm very new to AP and at this stage want to photograph pretty much everything that's within reach of my scope (galaxies and all types of nebulae).

I live in a semi-urban area and most of the local street lights have been changed to the new white type.  Although there is distant polution from other areas that have not been converted so far.

It seems that the IDAS filters are highly regarded and I found this discussion on them: http://www.cloudynights.com/topic/458137-understanding-idas-d1-p2-v4-heuibii-filters/

I found some of that confusing but think from that it comes down to a choice between the V4 and the HEUIBII.  Confusingly the FLO site says both the P2 and D1 are the BEST!!

The images on the FLO site make the HEUIBII rather tempting. 

I understand that a single filter might not be appropriate for my broad imaging desires at present but am finding it difficult to determine which I would get most use out of.

It's a pity I can't have 2 or 3 of them here to try out.

Surely it's not just about the close by street lighting that you need to consider, but on a much wider scale, if you have LED street lamps around your house, but on a much wider scale they are sodium, then the CLS and suchlike will work fine.

i live in the middle of three major cities, around 25miles from each of them, so that's where my LP comes from, not the three or four street lamps down the road....it's the cities that give my images the orange glow...especially if imaging low down towards any horizon.

or maybe I have it wrong :)

Hi Robin,

The information on the FLO website regarding the different Hutech filters seems to have been lifted off the European distributors page as the text is identical and has in parts translation errors.