NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

field rotation?

Galaxyfaraway

A question regarding field rotation: is this what I am seeing for this image in the corners? (mainly top right corner)

Snapshots of corners below (100% crop). Is this considered mild or severe?

I haven't done any drift polar alignment (only basic polar alignment). This is for WO GT81 at around 380mm at f4.7 (6x20mins subs).

Also, how can you tell if a problem comes from bad polar alignment or wrong backfocus distance? I have to use a reducer and my backfocus distance may be off by a millimeter or so.

thanks, gfa

Flaming Star PS edit.jpg

Top right corner:

top right corner (2).JPG

bottom left corner.JPG

bottom right corner.JPG

top left corner.JPG

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi gfa,I am no expert but to me it looks like your optical axis is not

quite right, plus overall it looks like you may be out on your chip distance by a little

Your bottom picture which I think maybe top left on the main pic is the best corner,

I ran it through ccd inspector, The picture is not ideal for analysis  due to the Nebula, 

and CCD inspector can be fooled by this,,

the cross in the middle is middle of axis,,, the cross higher up to the right is actual,,

as I say take this with a pich of salt  as may be a bit off.

I don't think its field rotation but could be a amalgamation of a few things,

unless your kit ie, camera filter wheel reducer flattener etc. is  screwed into the end

of the scope your going to struggle to get the optical axis good repeatedly,

Is this the first time you have had this problem, with 20 minute subs

nice Pic by the way :)

Paul

a1.thumb.png.654901467167a0ab772613979a5

Thanks Paul, I have only just started taking images with this kit and only noticed this problem when enlarging the image.