Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Canon T Ring Recommendations

MarkyD

The T ring I have for my Canon is noticeably loose with quite a bit of slop on the camera mount - it was cheap and came with a 2 X Barlow when I bought it over 12 months ago.  Are there any recommendations for one with minimum slop that people have used?

Is this Baader protective one worth getting?

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/adapters/baader-protective-t-ring-for-canon-eos.html

--

Mark

Which screws are these?  There are the grub screws that hold the thread into the ring - these are OK - and one very small one that doesn't seem to serve any purpose at all that sits inside the mounting lugs

I have a few degrees rotational slop on this ring in the camera body.  It looks like the slot that the locating pin sit in is to big causing it to rotate

--

Mark

I have some sympathy with this.  My "incy wincy" screws caused me a lot of grief when I used one of these T-mounts to mount a lens as a guide cam.  Talk about flexure where you'd never think of looking for it ! (learning point: look EVERYWHERE)

I have found that some of the cheaper adaptors have poor tolerances when it comes to the thickness of the 3 'lugs' that mate with the body, resulting in rotary movement when supposedly mated...

So pay a few more pounds & get a decent one from a good outlet (FLO\ModernAstronomy etc)

4 hours ago, MarkyD said:

This is the only "incy wincy" screw that I can see and it looks pretty redundant to me

It stops the bayonet from turning too far and coming out again.

I haven't had any problems with the four t-mount/M42 to canon adaptors I have had off the 'bay. All are nice secure fits.

• 2 weeks later...

I've noticed some looseness in my cheap EOS T2 adapter, so yesterday I had an investigation and found my problem.

Referring to MarkyD's image above, look at the notch in the outer ring above the red dot.