Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

BUSY BEES (M44)

halli

Hi All

Thought I would make life a bit easier by choosing a nice cluster to gain more experience of using a CCD, instead of trying to dig a faint galaxy out of the light polluted mirk !!

I choose M44 because of the nice star colours and its simplicity in order to practice LRGB processing which I am new to and found the Light Vortex tutorials very useful.

I have had a few little issues ensuring my 383l had enough voltage to avoid a very noisy output and bought a 13.8v regulated supply which appears to have done the trick.

130pds and Atik 383l without CC  - but now I have bought one ! -  but need to get the spacers so I can use it - perhaps next time !!!

Best Wishes 

Ian

56a7d87ebcda5_M44_130pds_383l_dss_lrgb_p

A couple of thoughts on this image - There seems to be a light circle in the middle of the frame - Did you use flats? If not these are an easy enough way to really improve an image over all. Also to me it looks as though the black point has been clipped a little and the background is too black...... Has the histogram gone too far to the left?

Great star colour and a pleasing one to look at :) Hope that helps.

Thanks everyone for your kind comments.

Yes you are correct about the two points you made wrt flats and the black point Sara !   I am still trying to get a repeatable flat generation process with the 383l, so I decided to try and get away with it for this image !