Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Gimp and RAW images

Stu1976j

HI there everyone, I am hoping someone can cast a little light on a problem I seem to have. I am quite new to the world of AP and was A advised to put my Canon EOS500D into RAW file and was advised that Gimp 2.8 was the best software to use to then edit the images.

Now last night I went out and started as there where fantastic clear skies. This morning I put the images on the laptop started Gimp and to my surprise gimp will not find them. 

The images are in the correct folder I made. and gimp is looking in the correct location for these also. 

So I am now a little stuck, I have a day off work and cant play :(

I am hoping someone can shed a little light on this matter as it looks like I have managed to get some good data.

That or is there another bit of software that is good for editing Raw files ?

Thanks for reading 

Gimp 2.8 is NOT the best for that. It is only 8bit/channel.

Use Gimp 2.9.x (beta but quite stable). There you can import your RAWs with UFRaw (just use the normal Open...). Dont forget to set the Output Depht to 16bit in the Color Management tab in the UFRaw dialogue.

Get you a copy of 2.9.x here: http://www.partha.com/

I like to use the portable builds, they dont need any installation.

Best,

Carsten

As far as I know, GIMP cannot open raw image files. Your camera may come with software that will handle raw files, otherwise I suggest you look into either Adobe Camera Raw or the open source software Raw Therapee. With these packages you can convert raw files to something GIMP can handle.

I use Raw Therapee myself for cleaning up raw files before conversion.

As stated in another reply, GIMP 2.8 can't handle 16 bit image files. There is a 16 bit version (2.9 unofficial version), but I found this unstable (although other people on this forum use it).

Photoshop is able to handle 16 bit files, but I don't use this software myself, so I can't advise you on it.