Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Photographer new to astronomy needs help fixing cameras to focuser!

Hi folks

Complete newbie astronomer but experienced photographer...

I recently acquired a classic 1970s long tube Prinz 660 3" refractor (1250mm/f16).  It came as part of a boxed set with 0.956" accessories but no tripod and an incomplete EQ mount (just parts).   I've been refurbishing it for a few weeks and it now has a 1.25" visual back, diagonal, red dot finder and a couple of modern low cost plossls and is fitted with tube rings and an arca-swiss plate and mounted on a manfrotto 055c tripod and pan/tilt head. The tripod is just adequate for visual work if you are careful.  Eventually, I intend to get a dedicated astronomical mount (maybe a skytee or an EQ5). For now, I'll make do with the camera tripod (which I'm going to try and strengthen).

I've just finished getting the thing set up for proper use and tonight I had my first real go with it (an hour moon viewing). Everything worked as expected thankfully. I even tried getting some snaps and a bit of video with my camera held up to the eyepiece (no lens attached). It kinda worked but a bit iffy! 

I know that there are various adaptors available (eg from ebay) that allow a camera to be mounted directly on the focuser without an eyepiece. Presumably in this configuration, the scope acts like a 1250mm/f16 telephoto lens.  I appreciate with my mount and tripod, nothing very ambitious is possible.

There appear to be a whole variety of different adaptors on offer that look quite different.  Some are very short 1.25" to T-mount adaptors, some are much longer, some have adjustable length tubes. One even combines a camera connector with an EP diagonal so you can switch between visual and imaging by turning a knob and one even has a built in eyepiece!