Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Please help

I'm new to astronomy and just brought my first telescope 70/900 refractor and getting frustrated I know it's not the best but that's what I went for anyway all I want to know is can I see any galaxies and what eyepiece to use to see them thank you

Katash, your scope has a small aperture but is still capable of showing you plenty, especially if you get to some dark skies.

The easiest galaxy to start off with is M31 in Andromeda. It is a large object so use your lowest power eyepiece (the one with the highest number on it, perhaps 25mm?)

Here is a finder chart to help you see it.

f6147a3830261cf0352d7ab008d912dd.jpg

Probably best to use a 20mm eyepiece, or 32mm if you can, as this will give you the brightest and widest image possible. Best galaxy to view is M31 (Andromeda Galaxy). On a dark night it's quite easy to find, but use low powered eyepieces suggested to get the best view. Note that you won't see the structure that you see in all those nice Hubble images, but even so it is a glorious sight to see.

What you will see depends on not just the size of your objective but also on seeing conditions like atmospheric transparency and how dark your observing location is... If youre at a dark location,with a 70mm objective, comparing what I saw through my 80mm refractor, you should see are the brightest galaxies such as Sculptor Galaxy NGC253, the Andromeda Galaxy and M83... mind you though, do not expect to see anything resembling what you see in photographs, it wont have any color or detail like what you see in pictures.

You will also be able to observe a lot of nebulae, globular clusters, open clusters, binary/triple stars, planets, the moon, the sun (THROUGH A PROPER SOLAR FILTER).