Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help please - DEC axis freely rotating with clutch fully tight - AZ EQ6

MikeODay

Can any one give me some clues as to what has gone wrong with my Skywatcher AZ EQ6 mount?

All was working ok, the mount was tracking ok for some time when all of a sudden it stopped moving. There was no obstructions and all cables where loose, no reason I could see for a problem. I checked the hand controller which was displaying "initializing" and kept doing so until I gave up waiting and turned off the mount. I then released the clutches and returned the mount to its home position. After I tightened the clutches I found that the DEC axis was freely rotating with the clutch fully tight.

Does anyone have any ideas - I am a complete novice with mounts; I pretty much just follow the manual and I'm lost after that.

My thoughts are:

- could it be an adjustment issue

- has something come loose

- has the motor/belt become disengaged

- has something broken

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Mike

If there is a belt then check also that the gear wheels are not rotating around whatever drive shaft.

They tend to be held by a grub screw and it may have become loose and is not gripping the shaft.

Also check before it falls out and disappears or jams something.

If no belt then check the the same anyway as the gears may be simply not gripping the drive shaft from the motors anymore.

Ummm.... well... ok, my excuse is that I am completely mechanically inept, and it was dark and very cold so brain was not working at its usual mediocre peak.

Anyway, 'problem' solved.