NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Do I buy a new telescope ?

Hi guys

New to astrophotography. I've taken a couple of great (IMO) images with my unmodded Eos 100D which seem clear for the absolute beginner.

I have a Celestron NexStar 6SE which is f/10 mounted on a Celestron Advanced VX mount.

If I'm seriously considering astrophotography, and buying mono CCDs and a guidescope and auto guiders... Do I first need to stop and ask myself the question ...

1) Do I need a better telescope?

Or:

2) Do I buy a mono CCD and guidescope and autoguider and experiment with my 6SE?

Has anyone fitted guidescopes to a 6SE? I don't know where to start attaching things.

If it's 1) buy a new scope: What would a good telescope be for beginning astrophotography ?

If it's 2) buy CCD and guider: I'm looking at an Atik 414EX and Orion starshoot autoguider. Thoughts??

Many thanks - I know there's like 5 questions in one :)

Joe

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Much depends on what you want to image. Given your use of a DSLR, I assume you are looking at DSOs. A short, fast refractor like the SW80ED is a lot better for this kind of work than an SCT at F/10 (a reducer does of course help a lot). I have done some attempts at unguided DSO AP last winter, and my 80mm F/6 triplet with 0.8x reducer gave some nice first results (nothing great, however, as I did not manage to gather enough data). For guided imaging I plan to attach a Skywatcher ST-80 as guide scope using a side-by side mounting bar, in the same way I mounted the two solar scopes in the image below

post-5655-0-92712800-1426785707_thumb.jp

I intend to use a modded DSLR first, together with my planetary camera as guider, before considering a (very expensive) mono CCD

Thanks Michael for the prompt reply.

Yes. Should have said intention is to image DSO.

I assume the Skywatcher 80 ED is a goto ?

I'm relying on computer guided accuracy go tos.