NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Mounting options for my binos

Run45

Hi,

I am pretty new at looking at the stars via binoculars but I recently just got myself a simple pair of 7x50s an am really happy at the results ...

Reading through the forums I understand that most people would just hand-hold these binoculars and or use a monopod but there are couple of things I would really

like to do that I currently can't easily.

1) Share my view's easily with my 5 year old daughter (I dont think she could handle a monopod)

2) Switch between looking at my star-chart and my current view in the binoculars (=want the binoculars to stay in position while I look things up on the map)

3) Sit in the garden-chair and look through the binoculars without needing to hold them (=and have a more stable image too)

So all of this led to investigate P-mounts.

Beeing not very skillful to build one myself it looks like the only options are

a) Orion Paragon Plus

B) something from the Universal Astronomics range (which one?!?)

I orginally thought the Orion option should be more than enough even if I upgrade to 15x70s in the near future but looking at the photos of the Orion if it would be good enough.

The thing that bothers me most with the Orion is that the L-mount seems to be paralell to the paralellogram so I wont be able to put the tripot next to my sun/star loungers and look at somthing ahead of me (with my legs streched out).

The UA mounts seem to have the binocular mounted perpenticular to the paralellogram if I understood all the pictures correctly which would avoid this " ...

Also looking at a lot of promotion shots of the Orion it looks like tall people end up still quite close the tripod while observing (and that is one of the thing  I would like to avoid)...

Unfortunatly those UA mounts seems to be a lot more expensive and harder to order in the UK ... also there are so many options (additional hinges etc)