Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

how good is my OTA really ? Celestron Omni XLT 150

Hi All,

So I've been dabbling with astro imaging for a few years now, and like many, started off with distinctly basic equipment which I've added to and added to, so now I think it's starting to border on becoming a decent set-up.  I'm especially looking forward to when I can take delivery of my new mount, which I'm hoping will make lots of difference.  Current kit as per my sig.

The one significant part that I've not really done anything to (apart from add a dual speed focuser, bolted a guidescope on top of, use a CC with and keep collimated) is the OTA, which is the standard Celestron Omni XLT 150 reflector - 750mm focal length, 150mm aperture, f5.

How do people think this OTA compares with some of the better mid-range imaging OTAs ?  In particular, I'd be interested to see how it compares with the SW 130 PDS (or 150PDS I guess) since there are some stonkingly good photos on this site from that OTA.  I'm kind of hoping that since it looks the same, and is I believe made in the same factory by Synta, that it would be an equivalent OTA, but I imagine I'm probably kidding myself !

So what do people think - is it up to scratch, or not really ?  Be honest - if it's not, then I have another splurge at some point to look forward to, if it is, then I can knuckle down and get on with it !

Cheers