Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Telescope focuser will not be right side up on new mount

Hey guys, Im about to order a mount for my Orion ED80, and realized that this will end up putting my focusers vertical instead of horizontal.

http://www.company7.com/orion/graphics/Orion80mmED697200.jpg
http://www.astromart.com/images/classifieds/576000-576999/576960-2.jpg

This is my first time with a refractor, so I'm not sure how things like this are managed. I'm wondering if I should be unscrewing these screws and rotating the entire thing : http://imgur.com/8UQQHvK
Im wondering if this will ruin the collimation or if its a bad idea in general. How would I go about dealing with this?

Cheers!

The "foot" on the Orion looks like it's just a photographic tripod attachment plate (1/4" thread) rather than an astronomical dovetail, which you'll need to attach it to the mount you show.

I think you'll need to add a  dovetail to the plate first.

There's no real issue using the scope with the focuser at an angle...... but yes using those screws you could move it to a "better position".

The collimation should still be OK.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dovetail-bars.html

The L bracket shown would do the trick and position the focuser horizontal......

I don't understand what you mean - vertical focuser? Why should that change anything?

If you mean you would have a problem looking through the eyepiece, then using a diagonal is needed. I would suggest a good one with dielectric optics and a 99% reflectivity.* Your scope deserves the best!

Clear Skies,

Dave

post-38438-0-70048600-1428209007.jpg

I don't understand what you mean - vertical focuser? Why should that change anything?

If you mean you would have a problem looking through the eyepiece, then using a diagonal is needed. I would suggest a good one with dielectric optics and a 99% reflectivity.* Your scope deserves the best!

Clear Skies,

Dave

attachicon.gifGSO Diagonal.jpg