Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

6SE Celestron Focal Reducer Help

daveangie0110

Hi All

Can anyone give me some advice and help i am a complete novice as you can tell !

I have a Celestron 6SE and I am thinking of getting a Celestron focal reducer so I can try to take some short exposure shots of DSO with my DSLR and ZWOASI camera, i have watched some youtube videos and they seem very good.

After reading some forums they say you have to have 105mm between the focal reducer and the camera sensor, why is this ?

I done a rough measurement i connected my T-Ring and my DSLR to my scope and i should be there or there abouts of 100 to 105mm with a focal reducer fitted.

Are they worth the £100 price tag ?

Doses a focal reducer make that much difference to your images ?

With my mount i am limited to 25-30 sec exposures max, will a focal reducer mean i could do longer exposures ?

Can i use the focal reducer with my ZWOASI camera ?

Many thanks for your help

It will roughly double the amount of light getting to the sensor similar to doubling your exposure time.

The spacing is where the light path is at its flattest ie stars at the edge of picture are sharpest . The further away you get from optimum the worse the edges get .

Worth it ...

Great question ?

I have one , with it I can fit the moon in one frame , without it I can't

They widen the field of view.

They shorten the focal length so tracking becomes more tolerant.

They do or they don't reduce exposure time, though. If you are photographing something that will fit on the chip at F10, they don't. They just make it smaller on the chip, and brighter, but you could do that in software with an unreduced image. If you are imaging something that fills the chip with the reducer then you'll get a good image much faster. Exp time in this case goes as the square of the F ratio so 6.3x6.3 = 39.69 (eg seconds) while 10X10 = 100 (eg seconds).  Quite a difference.