NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

new to this with a celestron NextStar 8se....

Good evening, as the title suggests, I'm new to this and have decided to take up star gazing as a hobby. I purchased my first telescope today which is the Nextstar 8 from a member of this forum who said for me to join up and introduce myself, so, hello!

...Whilst here, I was also hoping you may answer a question of mine, I was able to align the scope to the sky on first use but when looking through the lens, there's no real improvement to how I see through my own eyes. Am I missing something? I have not done a system reset yet and will do so later (it's raining now) or do I need more powerful lens'? Currently using celestron 25 lens which is all I got.

Any advice would be great! :)

Hello Danccat, welcome to this forum. I have a 8se, it's a great telescope and gives me excellent views so I'm not quite sure from where your problem comes. Do you mean that pointed at the sky it looks blank, if so maybe the telescope is not yet focused, there is a considerable focus range and it is quite easy to overdo it. Try a focusing run during daylight on something in the distance. Whatever the problem it will most likely be something trivial which can soon be sorted out.    :smiley: 

A 25mm eyepiece is a rather large (low magnification) size to use. To me it sounds like you have just not focused the scope properly when the 25mm is in place. The SE range of scopes have a pretty wide range of focus travel to use. It goes about 10 full turns to both the left and right.

Sounds like a focus issue.  At this time of the month (Moon not up until early hours, what there is of it), try pointing it at Jupiter and focus until you can see it's moons as pin point dots.  When this is achieved. you should easily be able to make out bands on Jupiter with a 25mm lens.  If you can not, try refocusing.