Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Finderscope or ST80 for guiding?

gnomus

I have been 'getting into' astrophotography over the last few months, acquiring 'bits and pieces', as funds allowed.  

At the moment, I am using a ZWO ASI120 as my guide camera.  This is attached via an adapter to my 9 x 50 finderscope.  I started out attempting some DSO imaging with my C8 Edge.  However, since getting an ED80 all of my DSO efforts have been with this scope (and this is likely to continue for the foreseeable).  

The finderscope guider has been working.  I occasionally get a message that "star mass has been lost" (or words to that effect), but PHD is normally able to find the star again.  Picture-wise, I am not getting any obvious trailing (at least to these eyes).  On the other hand, because I am new to this I don't know what "good" looks like.  I am not really sure what I am seeing on the PHD graphs.  The lines do move around a bit.  Assuming I'm reading them correctly, most of the time they seem to stay within the +/- 2" range.  (Again, I don't know how good this is.)

The only other issue that I encounter is when PHD tells me that my mount is unable to move as PHD would like (again this is not the exact message - I haven't written it down).  I think I have worked out that this happens when the object moves across the meridian and the scope needs to be "flipped".

It seems to me that the majority of imagers are not using the finderscope method.  The ST-80 seems a popular and inexpensive option.  It also looks like it would be quite easy to bolt it securely on top of the ED-80 rings.

What would be the advantages (if any) of moving from my finderscope to an ST-80 for guiding?  Is this this the next logical step, or is finderscope guiding good enough?

Thanks in anticipation. 

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply