Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Different Types Of Eyepieces And Their Purpose

Hi there,

I am brand new to astronomy and was reading a couple articles about eyepieces and I had no idea what the difference in them are! I would like some clarity on different types of eyepieces and their function, for example how a Plossl differs from a Hyperion.

I was also wondering if eyepieces are specific to different types of telescopes, for example if a certain eyepiece can only be used on a refractor.

Any response is greatly appreciated. :)

Hi and welcome to the forum :smiley:

It's quite a complex topic as there are more eyepiece types around than scopes !

This is a good primer (apologies if you have already read it):

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/43171-eyepieces-the-very-least-you-need/

This is also a good introductory piece from the Sky & Telescope magazine:

http://www.skyandtelescope.com/astronomy-equipment/telescope-eyepiece-guide/

Hope that helps a bit - feel free to ask more questions to clarify things though :smiley:

interesting question - I shall follow this also

what I have learnt is pretty limited but builds on my interest in old manual focus camera lenses - where the "character" (ie flaws) of simple lens designs is a potential benefit. In Astro use that seems much less true

3 lens designs (Kellner among others?) are pretty basic and due to design have issues with aberrations and colour. Got a 9mm Skywatcher "modifed" Kellner at it works okay

4 lense symetrical (Plossl) are also basic but much better with aberration control. Alas they also only offer eye relief at 80% of focal length so short (<12mm ish) are poor for glasses wearers like myself.

Hyperion are computer designed multi element designs - probably very efficient and lacking in "character" - alas I have never used one

This is an excellent read (and no doubt a fellow on here)

http://www.swindonstargazers.com/beginners/eyepieces.htm