NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First try at M42, Starting to come together

Cpaulo

So last night I took advantage of the first clear night in a while and got setup for a try run at guiding and imaging; first up the ubiquitous attempt at M42.

I haven't had much of a chance to get all of the kit I've been collecting for the last 4 months all together and setup, in fact I am still waiting on a polariscope for my modified EQ5 mount so the polar alignment was best guess.

However I got setup in good time, got my Altair 60mm guide-scope with QHY5L camera attached to my SW ED80 and got PHD up and running on the first attempt. I was a bit sceptical about the enhanced motor control with an ST4 port on the handset but it seemed to work really well. Bearing in mind I had a tenuous grip on a polar alignment I attempted exposures up to 3 minutes but settled on exposures of 90s through my EOS 700d.

Any way with a bit of Pre-Proc in Deep Sky Stacker and a run through Photoshop I got my first glimpse of hope that it might all be worth the time, effort and expense that I have poured into this hobby over the past few months. Overall I am quite pleased but would have liked to get some of the blue associated with imaging M42 from a DSLR.

post-39419-0-74457500-1420532524_thumb.j

10 x 90s Subs

10 x 90s Dark

10 x Bias

No Flats

Any comments welcome; feedback, advice, critique or general pointers all welcome.

very nicely done, and I suspect there's more to be got out in processing too. Good job with focus and tracking.

I'd shoot at higher than ISO200 though, even though you have light pollution.  Better to capture the light pollution with the signal and process it out, rather than not capture enough signal in the first place - try ISO800.  I did some experiments at ISO400 and was disappointed.  I think below a certain ISO you start compromising on the sensor's quantum efficiency so it doesn't fire as much as it should for each incoming photon.