NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help with D3300 focus problem

Xoranium

Hi all,

I'm trying to take photo's attached to a mak 127 goto, I have all the T-rings and attachments. I start off putting these onto my camera body and then attach to the scope main body, I pop my camera in manual mode with live view on and with a little tinkering of the scopes focus the live view shows me a super crisp image.. Great I say to myself.

I then set the shutter speed and ISO and use the 10sec timer to capture, once captured I view the image and it's completely out of focus, tried a few various settings and same results, I have even tried with live view off shows perfect focus but then same upon capture.

The tripod is very stable, I managed to take a video and this remained in focus.

There is probably a setting somewhere, but I'm new to this and would really appreciate if anyone can help me out.

Thanks

Xoranium

I was on the moon last night, various ISO and shutter, around 1/125 at 200. The exposure seemed fine after playing round with it, just each time the focus was way off, I tried some daytime objects today and managed to get some images in focus, by randomly switching from live view to viewfinder and adjusting shutter speed. But it was completely random I have no idea what changed to get in focus. Seems like sometimes it wants to sometimes it doesn't, but everything the view in finder and live are spot on. :-(

Pardon my manners, thanks for the response :-)

What puzzles me is why the focus is differing from viewfinder and live view. However the fact that I managed to achieve focused images today tells me it is possible? Just wish I knew what deep settings might be causing the focus to play games heh

Ok, basics first - eliminate the obvious to start with.

1. Is camera in manual focus mode?

2. Is the tripod, mount and all other bits that need to be absolutely solid tightened up?