Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Collimation quandary

Hello,

I'm new to using telescopes and having some trouble collimating my reflector telescope. I have a Celestron Astromaster 130, F5 telescope. i'm using an unpowered collimating eye piece, and can't quite seem to get the secondary mirror to align.

This is a picture of the closest I feel i've gotten it: post-39262-0-15372200-1412228571.jpg

I have really tried for a solid 25 minutes to get the mirror to be a nice even circle through the collimating eye piece, but can't quite get it into a perfect circle. I feel like I need to adjust the center screw on the secondary mirror, but the manual clearly states in the collimating section "DO NOT loosen or tighten the center screw on the secondary mirror support, because it maintains proper mirror position."

Does anyone have this scope? It kinda seems like the secondary is actually larger than can fit in the collimating eye piece.

Thanks in advance.

"DO NOT loosen or tighten the center screw on the secondary mirror support, because it maintains proper mirror position."

Could this simply mean do not loosen or tighten IF the mirror is in the proper position as you will then cause it to move.

If the mirror is therefore not in the correct position then you would seem to need to loosen it, or something, to adjust, and so return the mirror to the proper mirror position.

It sort of reads "Don't touch it!" without the bit saying "Unless you have to".

Whatever you do make sure the primary is protected if you do loosen it - just in case gravity takes total control.

As they are not an uncommon scope here I suspect a number of others will give a better answer.

I used to have one of these scope and it's perfectly ok to adjust the secondary by using the central screw.