NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Need help with decision on Telescope

I wasn’t going to do this as I know there is lots of posts asking what telescope but I need input please.

I am new to Astronomy and have done some viewing with 7x50 binoculars and I am hooked. I am now in the market for a telescope. I have looked around and read a ton of stuff and have a short list (I think unless I am off mark and one of you can put me straight).

I am mainly interested in DSOs but would like to see something of the planets. At the moment I just want to view but Astrophotography has caught my eye and may be something I would like to move into at a later time.

My main requirements are:-

1. View DSOs

2. Needs to be suitable for transportation to Dark Sky site by car.

3. Possibility to use scope for Astrophotography?

4. Budget £300-£400 (can go a little higher for needed essentials but need to stay close to this as initial set up cost)

Short list

Celestron Nexstar 127SLT

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/slt-series/celestron-nexstar-127-slt.html

Celestron Nexstar 130SLT

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/slt-series/celestron-nexstar-130-slt.html

Skywatcher Explorer 130P SynScan AZ GoTo

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/az-goto/skywatcher-explorer-130p-synscan-az-goto.html

I would really like any input anyone can give regarding the above and thank you .

They are all Alt/Az mounts which means not well suited to astrophotography, they will image planets reasonable.

All will view DSO's if you select the eyepiece appropriatly - as in forget high magnifications and this is not so easy on the 127.

If you were to put a DSLR on any I think the weight would be too much to get reasonable tracking - another reason for not astrophotography.

As a general point none of the "packages" you will see are aimed at the AP side of astronomy, they are aimed at the visual and visual and AP are different. In AP people tend to buy the components seperately.