NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What should be on my shopping list next?

I am still fairly new to this whole malarky, but I am getting there and am having great fun doing a mix of visual and AP (both webcam and DSLR) but I am starting to reach a bottleneck of purchases.  I was just wondering if people could help me devise a wish list of items, and order of importance.  My time is spend maybe 50/50 observing and AP depending on my mood, so I am trying for a jack of all trades set up, I am aware that this does mean I am spreading myself thin and I would have a better AP setup if I focused purely on that, but I like to dabble.

My basic setup is:

Celestron C8 XLT SCT

CG5 GOTO mount.

Halfords power tank. (Can't remember exact specs, but I did go overboard.)

For visual:

Celestron X-Cel 9mm

Celestron X-Cel 2X Barlow

Celestron 25mm that came with C8.

Vixen NLV 40mm I picked up yesterday

Moon Filter

Light Pollution Filter

For webcam imaging:

Neximage solar system.  (The older one)

For DSLR AP:

Canon EOS 1000D (unmodded)

T-Adapter

T-Ring

Remote shutter release

Items I have that are homemade rubbish but do the job...

Dew shield made of thick cardboard

Home made bathinov mask.  (creased and starting to fall apart.

Given this list where would you go next?

The items I can see (with estimated prices) are:

6.3 Focal Reducer - £120

More filters - £20 each?

Dew controller - £40

Dew heater - £50

Cross hair EP - ???

Polarscope - £35

A durable plastic Bhatinov mask - ???

Canon clip in light pollution EOS filter. - £80? from memory?

Then at some point autotracking.  But that is not even a consideration at the moment.

Is there anything that really stands out that I am missing?  and what would people say is the next essential purchase?  Dew Control or Focal Reducer maybe?  I think EP wise I am now sorted at least.

Cheers in advance

Ryan