Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First light with first scope (SW 150P)

So having had the scope a while but not actually having been able to use it for various reasons and having been thwarted by the clouds the last couple of nights (seemed to roll in just as the scope was cooling!) tonight I finally got to use it.

So, all set up and with baited breath took my first look. - awful, just awful.  Was seeing a large blob of light and what looked like a very close up of my eye being reflected back at me (as described by another newbie here http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/219268-can-anyone-explain-what-i-am-doing-wrong/).

Scratching my head first thoughts were collimation.  I have a fiddle and decided that trying to do something that you are not entirely sure of, in the dark whilst trying to not drop tools down on to the primary mirror in the dark was perhaps a bit ambitious.  I gave it my best shot but I was pretty sure a) the collimation was not going to be great whatever I did tonight and B) it probably wasn't the problem.

So, had a fiddle around with the scope etc, swapped eyepieces, bleached my eyeballs (ok I didn't actually do this last one) and fiddled around with the scope a bit more an still things were not looking great.

A bit more head scratching and I then dimly remembered that in that other post I linked to above people were convinced it was a focussing errors and also that the guy who sold me the scope mentioned something about having to remove a bit that he had screwed on just for ease of transport.  Penny finally dropped and I removed the 2" to 1.25" adapter from the 2" focussing tube and reattached the adapter.

Now success!  I can see stars and what's more I could see stars that I could not see with the naked eye.  OK as I suspected the collimation is a bit wonky and the stars were not razor sharp but I had actually seen things though the scope.  I was dead chuffed!