Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice for a total beginner?

Hi guys, I'm a total beginner at astronomy and I'm just wondering if you guys have any good tips/tricks for getting better. I just recently got my first telescope. It's a 130mm reflector on an equitorial mount. Right now I'm having a lot of trouble using my scope. My main problem is finding objects. I find that once I find an object I want to look at I have a lot of trouble locking my mount down without it moving all over the place. My other problem is I haven't managed to get my motordrive to work properly. Does my ascension knob need to be unlocked for it to work? Basically I just suck at using my telescope and I was hoping you guys could give me some help, or point me to some good resources.

Thanks, Malcolm

Hi Malcolm and welcome, I can't help you as I have a Dob and know nothing about mounts etc, however, there are loads of great helpful people on here who will be along shortly to help you out, give it 24 hours for most members to log in after waking/work etc and I am sure you will have some good advice and help.

Hi Malcolm and welcome to SGL. :)

Did you attach the little spring under the motor to the mount? They're a pain to get on but once it's there the motor will work. When you move the lever on the side with a cam underneath it pushes against the spring and engages with the axis cog. Push it the other way to disengage.

Once you have your mount roughly polar aligned (using the altitude and azimuth screws) then you control the scope using only the RA and Dec clutches. It's counter intuitive but with practise you'll be able to point anywhere in the sky. Then engage the motor and it will track the object for you.