NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Preferred colour balance for imaging...?

Hi to everyone!

I took some moon images last night and I noticed when stacking in Registax that the colour balance was slightly different between a full framed image and a close up. I would expect a slight colour shift when using any lenses (including a Barlow) so I was wondering if DSLR users had a particular favourite colour balance they prefer, as opposed to automatic?

Regards - John

True - I'm starting to see the colours coming through on the images, makes such a difference!

However, I am currently shooting lunar and planetary images using the video mode so colour balance will need to be set at something. For DSO I will be using RAW images (but I'm still very new at all this!)

John

Try setting to daylight WB. The moon is illuminated by direct sunlight. For Deep Sky, I leave WB in Auto (ignore it completely), then let DSS create it's own white balance setting. Works a treat on removing the LP filters colour casts.

Try setting to daylight WB. The moon is illuminated by direct sunlight. For Deep Sky, I leave WB in Auto (ignore it completely), then let DSS create it's own white balance setting. Works a treat on removing the LP filters colour casts.

i thought it wasnt a good idea to set the WB to auto as each sub could have a different WB ?

I suppose as long as the setting remains the same (daylight for anything illuminated by the sun) then for video work this would be best? For Deep Sky then I would use RAW files and so the white balance would be irrelevant?

I'll try and remember to set the WB next time! :grin:

FWIW i leave the WB on auto, process as greyscale then add 3% blue. Something about seeing the moon in mono just doesnt look right to me... i guess its cos im used to seeing it through a blue atmosphere??? :)

Mark