Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Complete newbie and need help on what telescope to get

Ok so to make it simple I have no knowledge of telescopes or any of the information on them. I did search this area before posting but it didn't seem like any 1 else was in the same position as me.

As such I would rather not just buy one without advice.

Its for myself and my 4 year old son. he was bought a telescope for Christmas a science worx one (I suppose that's enough said lol).

Anyway we would like to be able to get good views of the moon and its craters etc and see other planets/moons in the solar system if possible.

Realistically I would like to stick to a max budget of £80-100 Ithink this is a realistic entry price into the hobby.

I am not adverse to second hand but cannot view classifieds here and most are probably out of my range anyways :(

Theres a currys near me that sells them

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/cameras/accessories/binoculars/346_3797_31507_xx_xx/_xx-criteria.html

However I haven't the foggiest if there any good.

All suggestions and links are welcome

thank you very much in advance

Just a quick update through suggested links on this site I found astro buy and sell and on a quick search found these

http://www.astrobuysell.com/uk/propview.php?typechoice%5B%5D=Telescope-Refractor&titlechoice%5B%5D=For+Sale&statuschoice%5B%5D=Active&minprice=50&maxprice=100

From a quick google some of them seem to give good shots of planets and moon would you recommend these or a new one??

Would like to order tomorrow realistically for my sons birthday

The two best scopes that fit your budget are http://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes/skywatcher-heritage-100p-tabletop-dobsonian.html and the http://www.firstlightoptics.com/startravel/skywatcher-mercury-705.html they each have there good and bad points but are excellent value, optically the 100P wins on most objects.

Sorry wrong link now corrected

Alan