Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First ever !

Geuse

Hi Guys,

Hope you are all having clear skies. 

So i only just got a scope at Xmas - Astromaster 76EQ and i recently purchased an Orion USB Eyepiece II. I have been trying for about 6 weeks and been unable to pick up a thing with the camera, until tonight.

I just wondered if there is anything i could do with this video to get something resembling an image. It is obviously very bright, would it always be like this and if not how do i remedy? 

I have got Registax & DSS downloaded and i also have a trial edition of Lightroom.

Any help would be appreciated, please see the link - 

Thanks 

Thats still pretty cool, ther emight be some capture settinsg for the camera you could adjust to reduce brightness, though you'll probably lose the moons then ...im sure someone will be able to offer some advice as I'm a total noobie myself, but that was still cool to watch :)

Thats still pretty cool, ther emight be some capture settinsg for the camera you could adjust to reduce brightness, though you'll probably lose the moons then ...im sure someone will be able to offer some advice as I'm a total noobie myself, but that was still cool to watch :)

Thanks ! 

I was somewhat akin to a young chap on xmas day when i managed to catch it  !

what camera is it ?  presumably a webcam ?

If so, there should be settings somewhere in your capture software for exposure and for gain - reduce both.  I use a freeware capture program called Sharpcap that is pretty easy to use.

Gain is sort of equivalent to ISO, so really the lower the better so long as you're getting a decent image, otherwise it gets grainy.  Exposure is equivalent to shutter speed, so balance the two.  If the seeing is bad (ie if you're seeing lots of wobble on the screen caused by atmospheric turbulence) then you'll want a lower exposure and compensate with higher gain.  The video above has good seeing.

Hope that helps ?