Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Good scope for photos in Galaxy Season...?

So, as the season of galaxies turns towards us, what would people recommend as a good scope to use on an HEQ5 mount to get in close to photograph them? I currently use an 80ed with guide camera through the 9x50 finder. I would ideally carry on with that guiding system to keep weight down. My camera is a DSLR. Budget wise, I don't have a specific limit in mind, but as a relative newbie, I don't want to go top of the range, however, I would rather spend a bit more than entry level and get something that will give really decent results.

So far I have looked at the Skywatcher Reflectors, but ideally would go for something that wouldn't give diffraction spikes and have since looked at the Skywatcher Explorer 190 MN DS-Pro. Looks great, but is it right focal length wise and it is beginning to get costly...?

Any thoughts and advice greatly received.

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As you already have the 80ED Pro. You can continue to use it for the larger galaxies.

For the small fainter galaxies, People tend to use RC or SCT Scopes due to their longer focal length.

RC Scopes create diffraction spikes, so then the other option is an SCT. As you got a HEQ5 Pro, you can opt to go for a 8inch SCT XLT from Celestron with a 0,63 focal reducer.

But either way, it ain't going to be cheaper if you think the 190 MN is already expensive to you. As an 8inch SCT + focal reducer will end up the same in costs.

PS. The 190 MN is too heavy for the HEQ5 Pro to use for imaging. The recommended use for this scope is on a NEQ6 Pro or similar Mount.

Interesting reply, thank you. Good info re. The 190MN, I have crossed it off the list. The Celestron looks a good option, especially having seen Sara's latest work with the 9.25... I will investigate further. As for cost - if that's what it takes, then I will just not feed the family for a while longer!!!!!