NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First targets for a total noob?

LeeWilky

Hi all.

Its looking like tonight i MIGHT actually get to use my scope and camera for the first time and i was wondering what you all reccomend as some good first targets for AP.

I live in the Wirral, North West with low light pollution and will be using the SW 200p on a standard EQ5 mount with an Unmodified Nikon D3200.

This is my starter kit so i will be getting the mount motorised etc as time goes on and money comes available but i am a total noob to both photography and Astronomy so the bigger and easier the better and if you could mention what camera settings too that would be great.

Not looking for hubble images here just something to have a play with stacking and editing to get me into the swing of things.

Any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks.

Lee

How about M45, The Pleiades? Your field of view will be quite tight with the 200, but should look great. Good things are: t's pretty easy to find, in the right place at the moment, nice and bright, and even has some wispy stuff in there to pratice your nebulous processing!

Here's a useful tool for seeing what targets will be with your equipment: http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm. Also, stellarium or similar is essential to suss out what will be where when.

Good luck Lee, I hope you enjoy it!

As Stuart says, shoot loads and loads of subs, as many as you can tolerate taking! Then don't forget to shoot darks, lots of them too (20-30 if you can). And then there are flats and bias, but you can get something workable without them if you don't get round to them.

Have fun!

If your EQ5 don't have tracking (motors) then there's no real point in hooking up the camera to the 200p since you will get visible star trailing almost immediately. I'd guess that you will be limited to 0.5 sec exposures. The moon would have been a good target though, but it will set around 5 pm today.