Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help, what is this I can see?

Ok, total newbie to all of this, I used to know a fair bit about stargazing when I was a child but have forgotten it all now, my eldest daughter who has just turned 6 is really into space & stars & was given a telescope for Christmas.

It is only a basic Tesco one,but the other night after about an hour we managed to get it focused on a star (no idea which one as was fairly cloudy so the constellations kept disappearing, plus my husband was telling me off for shining the torch at the star map I was trying to read because the light was stopping him from being able to focus properly!!

The star we eventually viewed looked like a bright circle with vein type pattern in it, am guessing we focussed ok on the star?

Anyway, for the last few nights we have seen what looks like a really ultra bright star due west. It appears around 9pm & about 20 minutes later it's disappeared. Surely this can't be mars can it? I thought that stayed put all evening?

We've not managed to view it through the telescope as by the time we have got anywhere near focussing it's gone.

Oh & before anyone asks I know it's not a plane!

Anyone got any ideas? We are thinking of setting the telescope up for tomorrow night in advance, but given that we are terrible at actually finding anything in the sky I don't rate our hopes of finding whatever this actually is in time to view it! My daughter will want me to wake her if we find out it's something of particular interest so I need to be sure before I go disturbing her sleep!!

Oh & while I'm here, has anyone been able to view comet tuttle with the naked eye, my daughter is convinced that she saw it a few nights back but I thought it was a telescope only jobby?

Thanks in advance for any help

Catkins (rapidly discovering that we have bought a house in an area with far too much light pollution & facing completely the wrong direction for any decent star gazing)

Hi,