NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help for buying first Telescope

Hi

No doubt you have been asked this before but I am a complete novice with telescopes. My budget is around £150 (or maybe a tad more).I know that will be nothing compared to what you experts will have but i'm sure it will do me :laugh:

One that seems to be popping up in recommendations is the skywatcher explorer newtonion 130p. I'm guessing though these cheaper telescopes wont have the function to be able to plug in a camera to take pictures? I know i'll need to buy a moon filter but why do some scopes come with the 2x barlow lens and some don't? and what does it do?

thanks

Hi DGU, the Sky Watcher Heritage 130P scope is a very capable one, but will not be good for astrophtography in my opinion, the mount is not stable enough and it also has what's called an alt-az dobsonian mount, which allows the telescope to be pointed up/down and left/right, for AP (astrophtography you need an EQ (equatorial) mount which allows movement similar to the Earth's rotation, but in the opposite direction so that you can keep your target in sight as the Earth moves, most likely you will need this motorized. Unfortunately, there is a lot more to AP than just sticking a camera on a telescope.  As for a 2x Barlow Lens, this is a short optical tube that doubles the focal legnth of the telescope, this in turn doubles the magnification of any eyepiece you are using with the telescope - it fits between the telescope focuser and the eyepiece.  A Moon filter is by no means an essential item, the ones given away with telescopes are often not fit for purpose anyway.  Some people prefer to use a Moon filter (I do) and some people do not, for visual work only, not usually used for AP.

Hope this helps.

Is this the scope you had in mind http://www.firstlightoptics.com/reflectors/skywatcher-heritage-130p-flextube.html

if so it's a very good starter scope, as Robin has said it's a very