NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie, Amateur Photographer

mpg

Hi First post so a big Hi...

I'm not really into astronomy but i am a very amateur photographer.

This one was just testing how fast my lens was/is and I caught a shooting star.

9701087246_ae9bfbbae5_b.jpg
092 by mpg Photo's, on Flickr

These ones I tried a little harder.

10732660595_034901c0fe_b.jpg
018 by mpg Photo's, on Flickr

10732759404_40f3fc6df7_b.jpg
road by mpg Photo's, on Flickr

10740781295_8aa09e2b17_b.jpg
Moonrise by mpg Photo's, on Flickr

10741080603_ef77243378_b.jpg
Weybread Lake by mpg Photo's, on Flickr

Its the Milky way shot that brought me to this forum.

I'm struggling to process it any tips?

Thanks

Matt

Welcome to the forum Matt - I used to take pictures with my DSLR, got a scope and mount and thought 'how hard can it be?'!! Stacking your images is a good way forward, you can get free software (DeepSkyStacker) where you put in your, say, 50x60s subs for example and it spews out a stacked image all aligned. You will get much better signal if you stack images.

If you go to the FLO website, the book section, make a purchase of the book 'Making Every Photon Count' - this is something of an imagers bible and really does give you loads of information in easy to understand terms. It is the best book you will buy.

If you look in the imaging section, most people put their kit in the post and how many subs they took - This will give you an insight into the amount of data that we seek to produce an image.

Most of all, enjoy it and keep your hands firmly in your pockets. Do NOT reach for your wallet at any time otherwise you will very soon be broke!!! AP knocks normal photography into a tin hat for the money you can throw at it!!

Thanks Folks. I know its not strictly AP as such. I'm really after getting some good milky way landscapes. But who knows where that will lead me.. I've seen some amazing Andromeda shots.