Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

new scope

would like some help and advice in choosing a new scope please. i already have the skywatcher 130pm but would like to move up a couple of notches budjet around £500-£600 can't decide between a goto system knowing i am paying for the electronic jiggery pokerry or spend the money on the optics i've not got a particular interest i.e. planets because they are all good to look at so i presume a general scope would fit the bill.

any help or advice would be very much appreciated

thanks in advance site is excellent keep up the good work

ASH

Hello Ash. I'm fairly new to this game, but my advice would be go for aperture. I've got a Celestron C6 Shmidt with eq mount and goto, but I find I probably enjoy hunting objects in the sky by 'manually' star hopping [still learning this]. I do this with my Revation 12" dobsonian. Plus when you get there the larger aperture obviously wins on views. You'd get a lot of dob for your money!

Regards, Rob.

Hi Ash,

I'd recomend this............ http://www.firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=C8nGT I have one and its great. I would however agree with philsail1, it would depend on your prefered targets, this scope will show you the planets but as it is a fast scope it is better for deep sky work, you'd be better with a slower scope if planets are your thing.

Hope this helps

Gary A

have been looking at that one gary or the skywatcher 200 both are similar priced but does that mean you are spending some ofthe money on the goto system instead of the optics? must admit the goto is very appealing as i don't have the time to put the hours in (yet) because of work commitments. as i said i think a good all round scope is more than adequate for me everything up there is good to look at.

thanks for the replies

ASH

Hi Ash,