NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

BST 8mm Wide Angle first nigth...

Hi,

I've just come back from a quick session to check out my new 8mm Wide Angle BST EP on a Skywatcher 200P telescope. Time was limited so I only had 15 mins or so viewing Saturn, but I found the whole viewing experience a bit poor. I'm finding it hard to know if my expectations are too high, I'm doing something wrong, or the optics are less than perfect is some way. Being a complete beginner and not having a point of reference to refer to it's hard to know which of the above is in effect.

A little background:

Since I've had the telescope (~10 months) I've always used the 25 mm EP with or without the Barlow for everything. I found the 10mm that came with the scope unusable for anything as I can never get it focused. I've collimated the telescope (I think) which did improve things a little.

As I say without a frame of reference it's hard to unpick what is wrong (if anything). So I'll try and describe what Jupiter was like through the scope back in Dec/Jan when it high in the sky and as I understand about as good as it gets. I'm lucky enough to have access to a farm that's about 10 miles from the nearest town so in terms of light pollution the viewing conditions are pretty good (for Kent). Viewing Jupiter through the 25mm wide angle with or without the Barlow, the view is about the same in terms of image quality. Obviously with the Barlow there is more magnification but the image quality is lower. Either way I just about see there is banding across the planet but it's right on the edge of being visible, the bands are definitely not clearly defined.

The viewing experience (although not looking at Jupiter this time round) with the new 8mm EP is no better than the stock 25mm if anything it was a little worse (with the Barlow I could not get focus with the 8mm)

any comments, thoughts, advice would be gratefully received.

Thanks

O