NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Computer power supply wasted?

Carl Reade

No sure if this has been covered, or maybe new to some.

How many of these extremely useful items have been scraped?

A computer supply is a very stable, cooled switch mode device giving 12V DC, 5V DC and 3V DC with high Amp output. A fairly simple procedure and general tidy up would give any observer a very cheap and reliable power source.

There are loads of links online showing how to convert them to regular power supplies by simply adding what ever connectors you require.

Of course SAFETY FIRST they are mains driven! If your not confident dont touch.

Im sure its impossible to count how many of these very useful items has been dumped.

Cheers Carl

• 4 weeks later...

I stumbled into this as well. That ATX breakout board is only 1.25A though so it says. That's nowhere near enough - or am I missing something? As a PC builder I have loads of these PSU's knocking around.....

I'm not sure why they include 1.5A polyfuses - I guess the unit is intended for breadboard / prototyping etc. purposes. Clearly supplies are capable of delivering much more current - With due regard to safety! You'd have to be a careful re. running higher currents through the PCB tracks, if you decided to bypass the fuses.

I plan (eventually!) to solder the leads to binding posts. I finally found a source of multiple / different colours. Most manufacturers just do red and black, but these come in the whole spectrum...

http://uk.mouser.com...EqRYWtMrGOvAZks (Yellow ones) etc.