Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

No picture showing in DSS

Hi folks,

I am very new to imaging and have a problem which isn't helping the learning curve!

I know my set up isn't the best for imaging yet, but will be adding bits as money allows. Currently I am using a CPC 1100 (fork mounted - no wedge), a 6.3 FR and a one shot colour CCD camera

Last night I thought I'd have a go at M1. With my telescope being Alt Az mounted I know I am limited to exposure times so I thought I'd try 120 x 26 second exposures. Everything looked OK on the laptop screen whilst doing the imaging run and the resultant images look fine individually, (by fine mean quite a faint grey smudge but with some shape and detail) but when I come to stack them in DSS (using the default settings), I end up with the RGB levels window showing but no picture. If I try and save it I get a message saying that there is no picture to save. DSS goes through all the motions of stacking but I end up with nothing.

I know more data would help but surely I should get something. Or am I doing something wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

John

When it's done processing, it shuold say how many frames have been stacked over the image. It sounds almost like it haven't stacked any frames at all?

How many stars are detected in the frames? If you ahve any startrails DSS won't detect the stars, and won't stack the frames.

Hi Jannis,

Thanks for your reply. In the Star Detection Threshold window it detects 23 stars. (I have it set to 2%.) When it stacks it says it is stacking 78 out of the 120. When the stacking is done I get the RGB/Luminance/Saturation window but no picture. Also I am unable to use any of the sliders and it says there isn't a picture if I try and save it.

Regards

John

In the processing window, over where the image is supposed to be, to the left, it's supposed to say how many frames were actually stacked.