Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Evostar 90/PST stage 1 mod

Sqyff

Thinking about the stage 1 mod for my PST and was wondering if this scope would fit the purpose optically.

I want to keep the cost down and FLO are doing this scope on an EQ3-2 for £235.

With a 90mm Baader D-ERF at about £318 this would keep the total cost to under £600.

Also I'm no engineer and so would like to keep the chopping around of the tube to a minimum as I can't even cut bread straight.

Your thoughts would be most welcome.

Cliff

Cliff,

The f10 ratio would be good...

A 90mm ERF will end up close to 80mm clear after fitting to a cell...

The PST etalon must be positioned 200mm inside prime focus. I don't know if there's enough space without removing the focuser and fitting an "end block"....Plan B would involve cutting back the OTA.

(EDIT) I see the EVO90 has a 1.25" focuser...most available PST nosepieces are for 2"...

Options: As per #1, fit a simple end block with a central 2" hole

#2 Cut the OTA and fit a 2" focuser....

Thanks Merlin66.

I would most probably go for the 2" focuser as this would give me some adjustment.

What sort of improvement in viewing would this mod provide over a standard PST?

What I'm trying to work out is 'bangs for bucks'.

Would this be a good price to mod the PST in this way or would a larger scope be better? Of course more aperture is always good but in my case this would necessitate also purchasing a new (and more expensive) mount to use the scope plus the increased cost on the donor OTA and D-ERF. Basically at which point would you say the two lines of cost and performance cross?

Cheers

Cliff

As a hopefully related question to this thread....

.... Would you lose anything by using a 1.25" focuser assuming you could find or make an adaptor for it? Would it vignette the image at all?

Thanks