Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Total Newbie

Good evening, I am sure these questions have been asked numerous times before but hopefully you will all be kind to me. I have at my disposal just over £400 to spend. so my question is what is the best scope to go for to get the best bang for my bucks. I have looked at the GoTo Mounts and am quite interested in those, however I will listen to all advise given, I would like to include in my spend any accessories I may need. I am quite technical minded and do not mind a challenge.Many thanks for all your help, Regards Richard

Hi Richard

For bang for buck you don't get a huge amount if you put your money into electrics rather than optics. The best bang for buck scopes are Dobs, but seeing as you want Goto that kinda rules them out.

These are nice little Goto scopes that are great on planets. They also work well on small high contrast DSO's

http://www.firstligh...an-az-goto.html

I would opt for an 8" Dob, something like the skywatcher 200P or the more expensive GSO GSD680, both come in under your £400 budget with most of the money going on good optics not electronics.

I agree with the Dob sentiment, it is no doubt the biggest bang for your buck when on a budget.